The Rocked Lullaby-Poem

Image result for Dad carrying sleeping daughter black and white

The glass was shattered and I was cut

You picked me up

And brought me up

You used your words to kindly heal

The wounds in which still need to seal

You held me close that cold cold night

And told me I need not to fright

He said not to worry, it wasn’t my fault

And rocked me to sleep, all my doubt knocked out

Now, nine years later; my wounds are still here

I still blame myself; I still have the fear

The nightmares catch me every night, even day

But still, nine years later my father will say

“It isn’t your fault, It’s my fault instead

I’m sorry it’s partly my fault you’re broken

But always remember, when your heart starts to ache

I’ll hold forever, until the dawn breaks

You are loved by both your mother and I

And remember, it’s always okay to cry

Crying is what helps peoples wounds heal

And it helps you grow stronger, and as bold as the ciel

Come my girl, come give me a hug

And let us exchange our feelings of love”

And on this quiet evening at seven o’clock

I fell asleep to my fathers gentle, soft rock

Thanks for reading my Poem about one of the people who inspires me,

My Father

đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply